House of Prayer (Lent 2013)

House of Prayer (Lent 2013)

House of Prayer

"For my house shall be called a house of prayer for all nations." - Isaiah 56:7

During the season of Lent (the weeks leading up to Easter starting on Ash Wednesday, Feb. 13), Westbury UMC will center around House of Prayer, a series for community life together.

1) Enter In: The Psalmist’s Guide to Prayer
Worship on Sundays at 10:45 am
We’ll be looking at the Psalms as a model for how to pray.

  • Sunday, February 17 @ 10:45 am | Psalm 91
  • Sunday, February 24 @ 10:45 am | Psalm 27
  • Sunday, March 3 @ 10:45 am | Psalm 63
  • Sunday, March 10 @ 10:45 am | Psalm 32
  • Sunday, March 17 @ 10:45 am | Psalm 126
  • Sunday, March 24 @ 10:45 am | Psalm 118

Special Worship Services

  • Ash Wednesday | Wednesday, February 13 @ 7:30 am in the Chapel, Noon in the Chapel and 7:00 pm in the Sanctuary
  • Maundy Thursday | Thursday, March 28  @ 7:00 pm in the Sanctuary
  • Good Friday | Friday, March 29 @ Noon in the Sanctuary
  • Easter | Sunday, March 31 @ 8:00 am and 10:45 am in the Sanctuary

2) Make Room: Praying and Living Missionally
Small Group on Sundays at 9:30 am
We'll learn more about how to prayerfully be involved in places where the church is engaged in mission, with each week having a different missional focus and teacher. This is a churchwide small group to be held in the Parlor. All Sunday school classes are invited to attend.

  • Sunday, February 17 @ 9:30 am | Praying Missionally this Lent
  • Sunday, February 24 @ 9:30 am | Praying with with Anderson Elementary
  • Sunday, March 3 @ 9:30 am | Praying with Youth and Children’s Missions
  • Sunday, March 10 @ 9:30 am | Praying with Fondren Apartment Ministry
  • Sunday, March 17 @ 9:30 am | Praying with Haiti and Cameroon

3) Say Grace: Midweek Prayer for the Soul and Community
Prayer on Wednesdays at 7:30 am and 7:00 pm
We'll gather for Morning Prayer and Evening Prayer in the Chapel. Those attending Morning Prayer are invited to also prepare and share breakfast together in the Servery.

  • Wednesday, February 20 @ 7:30 am and 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, February 27 @ 7:30 am and 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 6 @ 7:30 am and 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 13 @ 7:30 am and 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 20 @ 7:30 am and 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 27 @ 7:30 am and 7:00 pm

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


code
 

Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.